03 Mar 2012 15:51
The "Person is typing" message wont work on my dials when im
chatting to someone who has their feature turned off. Now to me
that is wrong as i have my feature turned on. So even if said person
does not want to see me typing to them i should be able to see
them typing to me as my feature is turned on. Hope this makes sense
03 Mar 2012 16:03
> The "Person is typing" message wont work on my dials when
Well there's 2 sides to this.. a person should be able to turn it off for two reasons.
Both are applied to each person when it's disabled for only one.
04 Mar 2012 00:33
Yes perhaps the settings should be more specific.
Not sure how that would work though. But it should only
turn off your own message and not the other persons.
04 Mar 2012 03:56
My mistake, it seems you cannot see the other person typing if either you or the other has disabled it.
04 Mar 2012 06:10
Yes, if you have it enabled and the other person has it disabled it
does not show in the dial at all, and that's where i think there is a
If you have it enabled then it should work at your end of the dial, if
the other person does not want to see it then they turn theirs off,
its that simple.
It shouldn't work both ways when only one person has it disabled is
what im getting at.
04 Mar 2012 10:26
Well, the feature does say "Show, if you are typing", thus you can only allow or disallow the other person seeing you are typing. You cannot force the person to show you their typing if they do not want you to see it. If they have it disabled, then you cannot see them typing. This is fine as otherwise it would be a privacy issue.
What I am unsure of is if a person can still see you are typing while the feature is turned for them but not for you.
04 Mar 2012 10:27
No, if it's disabled for either user it's shut off entirely for both users.
04 Mar 2012 10:33
Then that's a separate issue. She wants to see the other person typing when they have it off. If they have it of, then she should not, thus it is fine as is now in that regard.
04 Mar 2012 10:47
Ok im really confused now :/
If i have it turned on, it should show me when another person is typing to me.
If i have it off, it should not show me when another person is typing to me.
Then why if another person has it turned off does it not show me they are typing?
It should just block it from them not me, do you get me?
04 Mar 2012 14:39
I didn't even know you could control that.
But it seems to me "Person is typing..." is a benefit to the person who sees it, not the person who's typing. So, the setting should be to be able to see it or not. Personally, I like it; mine is turned on. I think that's the default setting. Why would you not want your chat partner to see that you're starting to say something?
05 Mar 2012 01:30
> Why would you not want your chat
I was chatting to someone who had it turned off, so in turn it didn't show me
that they were typing. But i have mine turned on, so it should show me, it just
shouldn't show them im typing to them. It should not work both ways when only
one person has it turned off.
05 Mar 2012 02:45
Think of it this way - they turn it off because they don't want others to see that they are typing at this minute.
So if they have it turned off, and you have it turned on, they kind of win, no?
05 Mar 2012 05:11
> So if they have it turned off, and you have it turned on,
Yes, that's right. I still don't think it should work that way.
It should work for the person that has it turned on.
05 Mar 2012 06:28
The way it is set up now is fine. If you have "Show, if you are typing" on but the other person has it off, then you cannot see the other person typing and rightfully so. However, it seems that the other person cannot see you are typing as well even if you have it tuned on and they have it off.
The only thing that should be changed, if anything, is to allow the person who has it off to still be able to see who is typing if the other person has it on.
I would think that in general those who have it off do not mind not being able to see the other person typing if the other person has it on since they themselves do want them seeing when they themselves type.
05 Mar 2012 14:40
I still don't understand why...
...why you would NOT want the other person to know you are typing? All that means is that in a few seconds you're going to see a post by the other person appear in the dialog. For what purpose would a person NOT want their chat partner to know this?